HomePeopleEventsMajor heritage awards event wants to hear about the best in the...

Major heritage awards event wants to hear about the best in the industry


Nominations are open for heritage rail’s biggest awards event.

The Heritage Railway Association 2022 Annual Awards will shine a spotlight onto achievements from all parts of the sector. With ten categories recognising everything from locomotive restoration to the contribution of young volunteers to successful communications projects, there are opportunities for all heritage railways and organisations, big or small. 

Other categories cover innovative fund-raising initiatives, diesel locomotive restoration and the prestigious Morgan Award for Preservation covering outstanding achievement in the restoration of carriages and rolling stock. There are also overall categories for both large and small organisations.

The awards are expected to attract a strong field after the 2021 event saw record levels of interest. Previous winners have included the high-profile restoration of 1867-built Welsh Pony on the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway, the Lynton and Lynmouth Cliff Railway and the Class 50 Alliance.  

The latest winners will be revealed on Saturday, 19 March 2022, during a full awards event at the Burlington Hotel in Birmingham, subject to any coronavirus related restrictions.

Heritage Railway Association Chief Executive, Steve Oates, said: “Heritage rail has so much to be proud of, but we’re often not so good at celebrating that. That’s why these awards exist, to give us all a chance to shout about what makes the sector great.

“Whether it’s a young volunteer that’s helped transform your railway, or a huge restoration project that’s brought a rusty hulk back to life, there’s a category relevant to everyone. It doesn’t matter if your line is big or small, steam, diesel, electric or a funicular, these awards are here to shine a spotlight on the rich railway heritage we all love.

“I know that the last 12-months have been challenging again, with Covid-19 still a constant thorn in our side. But that also means that there’s never been a better time to give the volunteers and staff who have helped to get us through it the recognition they deserve.”

All Heritage Railway Association members can submit nominations for the awards. Full details of all categories, together with a nomination form, is available at www.hra.uk.com now. The deadline for submissions is 18.00 on Monday, 17 January 2022. 

Photo credit: Heritage Railway Association


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest news

Imprisoned for obstructing the railways

A recent court case has illustrated how serious the crime of obstructing the railway is considered to be. Thirty-six-year-old Stephen Harrell, of Springfield Street, Wigan,...

The work to get rid of waving

For many of us, flagging down a train as you would a bus would seem a little odd. But for some, those who use around...

Newts get moved in industry-first special licence

A highly protected species, much of what happens on a construction site can be stopped or changed when great crested newts are discovered. Ecologists need...
- Advertisement -

More news

Network Rail signs major deal with EDF Renewables for green energy

Network Rail has made a significant step towards greener non-traction power. Signing a deal with EDF Renewables UK means that solar power – equivalent...

Disruption expected during next ASLEF strike

Passengers are being warned to expect severe disruption to train services during the next strike by ASLEF drivers, scheduled for Saturday 13 August. Train drivers...

National Railway Museum loans oldest surviving Midland Railway locomotive to Barrow Hill

Midland Railway locomotive 158A has been transported to Barrow Hill roundhouse from Locomotion in Shildon, where the engine had been receiving conservation work and...